Family Addition

Posted on December 5, 2008

0


I have a new addition to my family… A new pet snake! ๐Ÿ˜€

Hubby and I picked her up last night. She’s a beautiful little thing – I have blocked from my mind that she’ll actually end up taller than me! :S

She’s a Jungle Python and is about 11 months old. She has beautiful yellow and black spots. I would post some pics up of her, but because she’s currently a jumpy little thing I didn’t want to scare her by shoving a camera in her face and having it make its loud camera sounds… So when the time is finally right, I will take the said shot and post them up. And when you see her, you’ll agree… she’s definitely one beautiful creature.

Hubby has named her Medusa. How appropriate! She’s a feisty little thing! She bit Hubby several times last night, each time drawing blood. She scared me when I saw her strike Hubby’s arm when he was trying to hold her. Wasn’t too fond of seeing cuts all over Hubby ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I strongly believe Hubby will be able to tame her… calm her down. He’s great with snakes. I don’t plan on holding her until this happens. Not really fond of getting bitten.

It is said that Jungle Pythons are not one to be taking on as a first pet, for they are known to be pretty aggressive creatures. So no, this is not our first snake. Having said that, however, Hubby and I have only owned our first snake since July!

Our first pet snake is a Stimson Python. He’s the cutest thing you’ll ever see and goes by the name of Venom! I absolutely adore him. At first I was scared of him (especially around my toes area, thinking he might mistake them for food!), but now, I want nothing more than to hold this little creature. It’s so fascinating watching him – the way they drink (go on, how do you think they drink?), the way they eat, the way they sleep, the way they climb… His strength amazes me! He’s now big enough to fit inside his proper tank. Hubby decorated it, putting plastic leaves and vines all around. When he travels along the vines, it makes me think of roller-coasters!

Here are a couple of pics I’ve taken of him…

Isn’t he cute?! ๐Ÿ˜€

I can’t wait to see the things Medusa does. I already know that when she sleeps she sleeps on the side of her head! You see, how can you not be fascinated by their actions! They’re so surprising!

So this is my current family and I love all of them to bits! ๐Ÿ˜€

Jax

Posted in: Snakes