Babies…?

Posted on March 10, 2009

6


OK, I have no idea why, but I started looking at baby names…

Alright, there might be a bit of a reason… and I guess I would have to say that Susan’s blog is that reason! It’s where she went to a particular site and you type in a word into the Search engine, and then paste the first thing it returns.

You can read her blog section here.

She had type in my name to search the meaning for, and I didn’t like what it returned! Though I probably should’ve gotten a big head over it! lol So coming away from that unsatisfied, I did a search of my own…

The following was returned from www.babyhold.com:

The name Jacqueline is a baby girl name. The name Jacqueline comes from the French origin. In French The meaning of the name Jacqueline is: Feminine form of Jacques: Supplanter. He grasps the heel. French form of Jacob. Supplanter. Introduced into Britain in the 13th century.

I like how my name is a French name (makes me seem more posh than I actually am! lol), however, I had to do some more looking up on what “Supplanter” means (I’m just not one of those walking dictionaries, unfortunately), and the following is what I found:

“a supplanter is one who takes the place or moves into the position of another” – WikiAnswers.com

Now, I have no idea if I like my name meaning or if I should go with what is found in Urban Dictionary! lol

Anyway, I ended up looking up the potential name for my furture baby girl (no, I’m not pregnant! But it’s nice to think of what you would name your child when the time finally comes around to it).

Girl name Gary and I have so far landed on: Keira.

The name Keira is a baby girl name. The name Keira comes from the Irish origin. In Irish The meaning of the name Keira is: Feminine of the Irish Gaelic Kieran. Dusky; dark-haired.

Not so bad, but pretty plain… I hope she’s gorgeous because then the meaning will mean more! lol

Boy name?? For some reason I’ve always liked the name Joshua. I wonder if it was due to my crush on Joshua Jackson! lol Anyway, this is what I found for his name:

The name Joshua is a baby boy name. The name Joshua comes from the Hebrew origin. In Hebrew The meaning of the name Joshua is: Jehovah is generous. Jehovah saves. In the Old Testament, Joshua was chosen to succeed Moses as leader for their journey to the Promised Land.

I like this meaning. But then again, you can’t really go wrong with religious names!

One last name, only because he’s my hubby and am curious to know what his name means! 😀 Gary…

The name Gary is a baby boy name. The name Gary comes from the English origin. In English The meaning of the name Gary is: Hard or bold spear. A diminutive of Garret, which is an English variant of the German Gerard. Also a diminutive of Gareth and Garrick Famous bearer: American actor Gary Cooper.

I think he suits his name quiet well – “Hard or bold spear” 🙂

OK, that’s enough baby names for today!

Jax

Posted in: Ramblings