Getting back into it?

Posted on December 22, 2009

0


I saw one of my old friends today at the station heading for home today. It’s been a while since I saw him last, so it was good catching up with him.

I’ve known this guy for a few years now, and he’s the one who got me into soccer all over again. I used to play when I was in primary school – our school used to kick butt in team sports! ๐Ÿ˜€ Anyway, I hadn’t played in a good team since back in primary school. Yeah, I played in high school, but was never really satisfied with it. It wasn’t until this old mate of mine asked me to play indoor soccer for his company that I got back into it. It was a mixed team, and playing with and against boys really improved my ball handling skills, together with having the ability to play a little bit more rough and tough – it’s a great way to let out your aggression! ๐Ÿ˜‰

After a year of playing indoor, Sam (yes, my old friend) suggested that I play outdoor for his club. I did that for 2 years, but was again unsatisfied, just like I was back in my high school days. I begged Sam to put me in the lowest grade the club had, even though he was trying to convince me to try out for 1st. I was scared of aiming so high, but didn’t realise that it was silly not to listen to him. I wasn’t playing like I should, and I think that was because the team wasn’t really a team – they didn’t work together like a team should. I got sick of it, but continued on with indoor – at least that kept me a bit revved!

However, after a while, I got a bit tired of soccer all together. I haven’t played indoor in nearly a year now. But when speaking to Sam, it makes me want to get back into it – I guess him telling me that I’m a good player boosted my ego! ๐Ÿ™‚

So now I’m wondering if I should get back into it next year…?

I’m really starting to miss it now that I’m thinking about it…

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Ramblings