The Self-Portrait Project

Posted on January 2, 2012

2


I’m the type of person who prefers to be behind a camera. So this year I’ve decided to step outside my comfort zone and finally do what I’ve been thinking about doing for the past year. Yes, I have started a 52 Week Self-Portrait Project.

…and I’m scared! 🙂

Why am I scared? Well, I’ve got a friend who completed a 52 Week Project a little while ago, but he mentioned that as the weeks went by it just got harder and harder to come up with things to shoot. So my fear was that I wouldn’t be able to come up with enough to ideas to see through til the end, and so was wanting to have 52 ideas before starting. But all that did was overwhelm me and made me hold back even longer on starting. When I mentioned to a close friend of mine that I was thinking of doing this, she egged me on like she always does and gave me more confidence to finally follow through with this. Even though her encouragement gave me more confidence within myself, I have to admit, I was still a bit scared to start, especially when I only have 3 items on my list! So I decided to give myself a starting date, 1st January 2012, and I’m proud to say I actually stuck to it.

This is my first one of the year…

For the past few weeks I had been racking my brain trying to think of how to take the very first shot, what pose to do and where. I was actually considering taking a mug type shot, you know those terrible passport photos you have to put up with for 10 years! But that’s not really how I wanted to start off my project. And then it came to me, only a couple of days ago… I had mentioned that I prefer being behind a camera. So I thought, why not show myself, but at the same time, hide, and what better way to do that than to cover my face with my hands. So I started trying to come up with poses in my bathroom mirror! 🙂 I was intending on using both my hands to cover my face and disclose one of my eyes through a gap, but then figured I needed one hand to control the remote shutter. In the end, what you see above is what I came up with.

I don’t plan on blogging every single portrait that I take. Actually, I think this one here is going to be the only one I’ll be blogging about. If you’d like to see my self-portrait shots, please checkout my “Self-Portrait” Flickr page where I plan on adding all my photos to.

